top of page
  • Yee Yeoman

Understanding Your Vulva: A Guide to Normal Anatomy

It's essential to know what normal vulvar anatomy looks like to identify any changes or issues that may require medical attention. The vulva is the external part of the female genitalia and includes several key structures:

  1. Mons Pubis: The fatty area over the pubic bone, which becomes covered with hair during puberty.

  2. Clitoris: A small, sensitive organ located at the top of the vulva, playing a significant role in sexual pleasure.

  3. Labia Majora: The outer 'lips' of the vulva, which protect the inner structures.

  4. Labia Minora: The inner 'lips' located inside the labia majora, surrounding the vaginal and urethral openings.

  5. Urethral Opening: The opening through which urine exits the body.

  6. Vaginal Opening (Introitus): The entrance to the vagina.

  7. Perineum: The area between the vaginal opening and the anus.

Normal anatomy can vary widely between individuals, but understanding these basic structures can help you recognise what is typical for your body. If you notice any unusual changes or symptoms, such as persistent itching, irritation, or pain, it may be beneficial to consult a healthcare provider.

Visual Guide

For a detailed visual representation of normal vulva anatomy, you can view this comprehensive image from the National Cancer Institute.

Additional Resources

For more information and resources on vulvar health, you can explore the Vulva Library, which offers a wealth of information on various aspects of vulva care and health.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page